Ulster SBK Round 4 – Press Release

By 30th May 2019 News, Press Launch

Belfast & District Motor Club will host Round 4 of the AJ Plumbing Supplies Ulster Superbike Championship at our Annual President’s Cup Event at Kirkistown Race Circuit, 130 Rubane Road, Kircubbin, BT22 1AU Co Down on Saturday 1st June 2019.

Qualifying starts at 9 am and racing due to commence once qualifying is completed. There will be a lunch break around midday.

Admission: £10 per person including programme. Children 12 years and under free admission when accompanied by an adult.

Presidents Cup

Saturday 1st June 2019

Pre Injection Class

Featured event of the day is the Wallace Contracts sponsored Pre-Injection President’s Cup races. Winner will be the rider with the most points from the two legs. Previous winner Johnny Irwin is on top form this year but the rest of the field will be raising their game to get onto that top spot. Derek O’Donnell has been on the podium at every race and looks to be his closest challenger but a determined Dermot Cleary took a very close second in Race 1 on Easter Monday. Also pushing for a top spot will be Kevin McGrath, Aidan Cleary, Trevor Elliott, Jonathan Gregory, Simon Overend and Liam Trainor.

Ulster Superbike

The ‘King of Kirkistown’ Carl Phillips and Kawasaki return to Kirkistown undefeated this year. The main challengers looking to break this dominance will be Ali Kirk, Nico Mawhinney who missed the last round and Gerard Kinghan who should be fully fi t after his fi rst round fall at Bishopscourt. Not to be discounted are the ever improving Ryan Gibson, Aaron Armstrong and Barry Graham who are edging closer to the top four.

Ulster Supersport

Christian Elkin tops the Supersport championship with 5 second place podiums and a fourth place fi nish. Mark Conlin and Jack Waring, both podium fi nishers, will be making sure that there will be no easy victories on the day. Keep an eye on Mark Hanna. He is getting faster each outing and could very well be on for his fi rst podium of the year. Kyle Cross and Ryan Fenton are making steady progress and wont be far away. Keeping the Pros on their toes will be Cup riders like Jonny Singleton and Michael Owens.

Superbike Cup

A competitive grid of entries includes Andrew Irvine, Lee Chambers, Andy McAllister, Aaron Uprichard, Steven Love, Michael Gahan, Brian Gardner and Gareth Mackey.

Supersport Cup

A well supported popular class includes Jonny Singleton, Michael Owens, Jack Oliver, Damien Horgan, Alex Morgan, Nicole Lynch, Daniel McClean and Stephen Smith.

Lightweight Supersport

Stephen McKeown looks the best contender for another couple of wins as he has accumulated 5 wins from 6 starts already and narrowly leads the championship from the only other winner this season Kris Duncan. Gareth Morrell, Damien Horgan, Scott Russell, Pierre Pannetier, Matthew McCay, Tom Greenwood and Luke Houston have all shown that on their day they are capable of top six or even podium results

Moto 3 class

This class has seen a variety of winners including 1998 British Champion Woolsey Coulter, Cahal Graham, Jamie Lyons and Gary McCoy. Should be exciting races between the two Garys and Cahal who now has an M3 for this meeting. Nigel Moore and Malcolm Love are the other M3 contenders, The 125 GP machines will see a straight fi ght between Sean Leonard and Peter Shannon.


At each round so far we have had a diff erent double winner, Carl Phillips, Denver Robb and Jeremy McWilliams. Of these Denver is the only one entered for Saturday and is probably the man the rest have got to beat. Cahal Graham, Kevin Lavery, Ross Irwin and Gary McCoy are desperate to get on to the top spot of the podium and keep their championship hopes alive. Late addition to this class and someone who could upset early season predictions is Christian Elkin who recently scored a great second place at the North-West.

Production Twins

As the season has progressed its getting tight at the top. Darryl Tweed has withstood immense pressure not only from Mark Abraham but also Adam Crooks, team mate Darryl Anderson and Johnny Aiken to take his fi ve race wins. Last race on Easter Monday the gap at the line was a narrow 0.292sec between Tweed and Abraham. The next winner is defi nitely too close to call. Chasing this group will be Paul Demaine Jnr, Christopher Connolly and Johnny McCay.


As yet too early to make predictions. Brian Mateer has continued his winning ways in the 250cc class while in the 350cc class Nigel Moore and Alex Conroy each have a win ahead of Nicky Lamb. Lewis McClements and Phil Shaw have taken wins in 500cc and 1000cc respectively. First appearance this year of proven race winners Barry Davidson, Alastair Henry, Andy Kildea and George Stinson.

Young Guns/Junior Cup/SS300

What a great show these young lads and lasses put on at every meeting. All three classes are hotly contested and going into Round 4 Braydon Cummings, Alex Duncan and newcomer Ajay Carey lead their respective championships. Braydon has won all his races bar one but will face stiff opposition from Liam Baird and Robert Caulfi eld. Alex has had one win this season and will be hoping to beat 4 time winner Cameron Dawson but both need to watch for fast improving Rhys Coates who has also taken a win. Scott McCrory and Rossi Dobson will also be pushing for a podium result. In the absence of some of his closest rivals Ajay with one win and 3 second places will hope to extend his championship lead.

Admission: £10 per person including programme Children 12 years and under free admission when accompanied by an adult.

Practice gets under way at 9.00am with racing following immediately afterwards.

Wishing all riders & spectators a safe and enjoyable days racing.

Gerry Rutherford & John McClure (B & D Club)


Source:- Belfast & District Motor Club